sat nite

2015 News Stories

Archived stories: 2014 | 2013 | 2012

Stapleton tops Shady Bowl Late Models

05-09-15: Shady Bowl fans were greeted by warm weather and a full pit area of fast cars Saturday night.

In Late Model action Jim Lewis Jr. led this first lap before losing out to Buck Purtee in his familiar number 63. Purtee led until lap 12 before giving away to Greg Stapleton. The Troy, Oh driver behind the wheel of the U Safety backed racer went on to claim top spot in the feature. Jim Lewis Jr, Josh Smith, Purtee and John Stroble rounded out the top five. Gregg Jackson was the winner of the dash with John Stroble taking the heat win. Josh Smith was the fast qualifier for the evening with a time of 13.144.

The 30 lap Modified feature saw Huber Heights, Brad Williams post his first feature win of the season in his Fast Lane Wash and Lube sponsored machine. Brad Yelton, Greg Stapleton, Mike Carroll and Logan McPherson finished second thru fifth. McPherson took the dash with Carroll taking the heat win. Stapleton had quick time with a 13.539.

The Street Stock feature saw Rodney Roush lead the first 17 laps before tangling with Buck Purtee. Roush was able to continue, but Purtee was unable to finish. Mike Snapp of Spring Hill took over the lead and lead the final laps in his SRS racing Monte Carlo to capture the feature. Josh Sage, Chad Small, Jacob Heckman and Brian Burch rounded out the top five. Dash winner was Buck Purtee. Heat winners were Mike South Jr. and Rodney Kreusch.
Jacob Muncy set quick time with a 14.557 lap.

The Ohio Valley Dwarf Car Association (OVDCA) was dominated by West Liberty’s Daniel Wirick who set fast time at 13.686. He won the dash and the feature also. Greg Sparks was second followed by Jason Hitchcock, Lynn Mitchell and Connie Smith. Zach Hitchcock won the heat race.

The 4cylinder front wheel drive compacts saw Josh Foltz claim his second feature of the year Saturday night. Nicholas Meade, Larry Adams, Zach Doolin and Jimmy McElfresh rounded out the top five. Larry Adams was your fast qualifier with a 16.948 time.
Dash winner was Nicholas Meade with Jimmy McElfresh your heat winner.

The 10 lap Pure Stock feature was won by Justin Durflinger.

Next Saturday night 05-16-15 will host DARF (Dayton Auto Racing Fans) nite with all active members admitted free. On hand will be the ORA Outlaw Super Lates along with Modifieds, Street Stocks, Tuners, Compacts and Pure Stocks. Racing starts at 7.

Chris Parker Takes Lewis Memorial

DeGraff OH: Shady Bowl Speedway played host to a great field of stock cars after suffering several rainouts. One of the races lost to weather was the Bill Lewis Memorrial. The 40 lap modified main saw Anthony Heitzman led the first ten counters before Bellefontaine driver Chris Parker took the lead. Parker led the rest of the race to claim top spot. Brad Yelton, Ross Klinglehofer, Mike Carroll and Brad Williams took the next four spots. Carroll was the dash winner with Klinglehofer and Carl Stapleton taking heat wins.

In late model action, Troy, OH driver Greg Stapleton claimed top spot. Buck Purtee was second, with new track record holder Josh Smith third. John Stroble and Ross Klinglehofer fourth and fifth, Shawn Stroble was the dash winner with Purtee taking the heat checker.

Columbus driver Jacob Muncy took the win in the street stocks. Finishing second was Jason Burnside followed by Mike South Jr., Rodney Kreusch and Chad Small II. Muncy also claimed the dash win with heat checkers going to South and Bo Hoelscher.

In tuner action Austin Eaton of Bellefontaine, Oh claimed top spot after leaving his Prom early to win his feature. Justin Durflinger, Eric Souders, Leslie Rhodes and David Callahan rounded out the top five. Rodney Roush took the dash win , with Callahan taking the heat win.

Josh Foltz of New Carlisle got off to a great start as he set a NTR (New track record) and also claiming the feature. Alex George, Jimmy McElfresh , Ryan Barrett and Zach Doolin finished second thru fifth. Barrett was the dash winner, with Ray Smith and Nicholas Meade winning heats.

This Saturday will see Late Models, Modifieds, Street Stocks, OVDCA, Compacts and Pure Stocks on hand. Racing starts at 7.

Opening Night Ends in a Blaze

DeGraff, OH 4/18/15 - Shadybowl officially started their racing season 4/18/15 by welcoming the CRA Street Stocks. The field was full of great looking and fast cars that put on a fantastic show for the fans. Local favorite, Ricky Young, had his night ended early due to motor issues. The defending champ of the 2014 CRA event at Shadybowl, Josh Poore, was on hand and set fast qualifying time. While Josh Poore was a strong contender to clinch the checkered for this year, Colby Lane proved he was the man to beat and took home the $3000 top prize.

In the compacts class, Nicholas Philbeck won the fast dash with Josh Foltz setting fast qualifying time. Second-year racer Alex George won his heat race and followed that up with an aggressive performance in the feature where he held off the challenges of fast qualifier Josh Foltz to claim the victory.

The tuner class saw Justin Pope claim fast qualifier honors by turning a 15.775 lap. In the fast dash Terry Eaton Jr. took the checkered. The heat winner was Leslie Rhodes. The tuner feature proved to be a show-stopper - literally. With 4 laps to go in the feature race, Rodney Roush's #8 tuner caught fire due to an unknown issue. His car came to a rest in between turns 3 & 4 where the car became engulfed in flames. Track crews and officials sprang into action, helping Rodney exit his car. The blaze became difficult to manage due to a wiring issue on Roush's car which kept the fuel pump running and feeding gasoline into the fire. While crews battled the flames, EMTs ensured Rodney's safety and we are happy to report that he suffered no injuries. Due to the extensive track cleanup that was necessary after extinguishing the fire, track officials decided to call the race, and finish the evening's events. This meant the win went to a familiar face - the defending Tuner Track Champion, Terry Eaton, Jr.


Social MediaMake sure you're subscribing to the official Shadybowl Twitter Feed and Facebook page!



Copyright 2014, Shadybowl Speedway, 9892 Flowing Well Road, DeGraff, Ohio 43318, (937) 585-9456
Facebook Page Twitter Feed